GPH IPO

Completed another IPO project. High-five yo!

This time around, I have someone assisting me which helped a lot especially for mundane items like RSVP.

Some of the lessons I learnt includes:

1. “Don’t judge a book by its cover”

J was assigned to me for this project. I ended up having to do everything by myself though. It was frustrating working with him as although he was included in all the emails, he did not bother to keep himself updated with the developments. He asked simple questions on timeline that astounded me. I ended up requesting for help from W, an intern instead. W is not as “smooth” as J and sometimes gets “laughed at” for his slightly slower response. And as you might have it, yes, W delivered.

You don’t need someone with an IQ of 200, you just need someone reliable to assist you.

“Don’t judge a book by its cover,” people.

2. “How to be a better supervisor”

Managing and exercising self-restraint was a challenge when it came to J. He wasn’t performing in all the tasks, even ones that I could have done in secondary school. I was upset but I did not share with him. Instead I eased by stress by sharing with closer colleagues. He eventually managed to break through the “flood gate” of restrain and I took him aside to tell him how I felt.

Throughout the IPO, I only assigned him the task of organizing the IPO media conference. He started off by inviting the media to the wrong event (even though I already typed out the invitation and indicated the dates to him), he followed by downplaying his mistake by saying “no worries, this is small issue, it can be rectified. Why so stress? No big deal”. Finally when it was nearing the event, he was tasked to go for an IPO due diligence trip and will only be back on the day of the media conference. I was not too pleased (trying to be mild here) when I realized that he did not even have the decency to tell the boss that he was assigned to organize the IPO media conference.

Eventually I took him aside and told him to pull up his socks, that his current standard of work leaves much to be desired. This is no longer school where you can get away with a grade. This is the professional world where the “friend-friend” thing is valid up to the point when you finish your work. At the same time, I took responsibility for the fact that maybe I could have managed him better and that he can approach me whenever he needs clarification. I concluded by telling him to take this feedback positively and continue working hard from there.

I’m thankful for him though. Through him, I understand how difficult it can be manage someone, the type of people I would like to work with if I am heading my own team in future and more importantly, to learn to be more patient.

3. “Learn to control your emotions under stressful conditions”

At the end of the day, the job just pays for the bills. Of course, one has to put in their best foot forward in everything they do. However, if things do not work out as expected and you know you have put in your all, it is time to let go. As challenging as it may be, try not to raise your voice at others.

4. “Be super efficient at work”

I’m not exactly remunerated fairly. Work hard to finish everything you can during official hours and just switch off during the weekends. I stayed in office till 12am during the SS IPO but managed to leave work at 10pm for GPH.

5. Complete the project with a blast

Recency effect [ˈriːsənsɪ]n: (Psychology) Psychol the phenomenon that when people are asked to recall in any order the items on a list, those that come at the end of the list are more likely to be recalled than the others

In essence, if there’s a celebratory dinner at the end, make sure that everyone is well taken care of. Pre-empt what is needed and stay close to the boss to make sure his glass is well-filled at all times. With alcohol, everyone is much easier to please. Hence, don’t stinge on the alcohol.
Leave a Reply

