Love & Other Drugs

Quick 101 on Love & Other Drugs:

A woman suffering from Parkinson’s befriends a drug rep working for Pfizer against 1990s Pittsburgh backdrop. Maggie and Jamie’s evolving relationship takes them both by surprise, as they find themselves under the influence of the ultimate drug: love.

Love & Other Drugs Favourite Scene (click to view video)

Jamie Randall: I’m full of shit, okay? No I’m… I’m *knowingly* full of shit. Because, uh… because uh, uh… I have… I have *never* cared about anybody or anything in my entire life. And the thing is, everybody just kind of accepted that. Like, “That’s just Jamie.” And then you!… Jesus. *You*. You. You didn’t see me that way. I have never known anyone who actually believed that I was enough. Until I met you. And then you made me believe it, too. So, uh… unfortunately… I need you. And you need me.

Maggie Murdock: No I don’t.

Jamie Randall: Yes you do.

Maggie Murdock: No I don’t.

Jamie Randall: *Yes*, you do.

Maggie Murdock: Stop it, stop saying that. Maggie Murdock

Jamie Randall: You need someone to take care of you.

Maggie Murdock: No, I don’t!

Jamie Randall: Everybody does.

Maggie Murdock: I’m gonna need you more than you need me.

Jamie Randall: That’s okay.

Maggie Murdock: [crying] No it’s not! It isn’t *fair*! I have places to go!

Jamie Randall: You’ll go there. I just may have to carry you.

Maggie Murdock: …I can’t ask you to do that.

Jamie Randall: You didn’t.

Jamie Randall: Let’s just say in some alternate universe, there’s a couple just like us, okay? Only she’s healthy and he’s perfect. And their world is about how much they’re going to spend on vacation or who’s in a bad mood that day, or whether they feel guilty about having a cleaning lady. I don’t want to be those people. I want us. You. This.

The movie ended with a round up by:

Jamie Randall: Sometimes the things you want the most don’t happen and what you least expect happens. I don’t know – you meet thousands of people and none of them really touch you. And then you meet one person and your life is changed forever.

Leave a Reply

