Aloneness and Loneliness

“Developing an attitude of not clinging requires, at first, that we spend a certain amount of time alone. Many of us cling to the experience of being with others out of fear of being lonely. But aloneness is not loneliness. Rather, it is the singleness that creates space for us to think, reflect, meditate and free the mind from noise and attachment. As our greed, hatred and delusion dimish through our solitary practice of mindfulness and meditation, we strengthen our ability to be with others without clinging. When the mind is at peace, we can be in the company with many people, without attachment and the suffering it brings.” – Eight Mindful Steps to Happiness by Bhante Henepola Gunaratana

Today, I enjoyed something I never thought I would…. shopping and eating alone in town. Never did I imagine that I would be so at ease with it. I took the time to enjoy “the sole orchestra” at Shaw, sitting there while i listen to him play to the theme song of Titantic. He’s great, btw. Met a broker while walking around and he expressed his surprise when he realised i came to town alone.

I’m starting to be comfortable in my own skin. I like this. Yes, I could get used to it.

 

The sole orchestra

Leave a Reply

