The day it all came to light

Today-the day of affairs and indiscretions

As I was waiting to buy coffee in the morning, I saw my colleagues ahead of me in the queue. They were standing uncomfortably close when suddenly, she turned in to him for a kiss. That would have been fine, except that he’s married-less than a year to be exact. I was shocked then disappointed. I wanted to believe the love with his wife was real for theirs is a sweet union that started back in university.

Headed for lunch and heard a story of how a friend of my lunch partner asked her out to East Coast to take a few photos. I thought that was a rather absurd until I realised that it was because her friend knitted a soft toy for her bf and wanted to take some nice photos to accompany the gift. Her friend is 24 years old. I remember then.. how at 24, i was willing to do anything and everything for love.

After lunch, news broke that Michael Palmer, the Speaker of Paraliament resigned from his post due to an affair.

Shortly after, I was called to the pantry by my boss to hear his recollection of his trip with a group of people over the weekend. A particular female guest who participated in the trip and whom I’m talking to for the first time, uttered her first sentence to me: “Is XXX rich?” For the first time ever, I rolled my eyes within 3 minutes of meeting a person. Well, I guess, she’s just innocent and had special interest in XXX since he kind of expressed interest in her during the trip. (Then again, I have to say that he seem to express interest in a lot of people I know.) The words that flashed in red, bold, italics, in my head was “bimbo”. I’m not sure why I was upset to hear that that was the first thing she said. I guess I wonder why on earth this lady would be interested in that? Shouldn’t it be, is he nice? What sort of person is he? How does he treat the person around him? What did he do before taking on his current position? or something that effect.

The conversation continued with how my colleague’s bf made attempts to hit on that girl several times on a trip. She felt uncomfortable that he kept coming close to whisper in her ears several times when he could just talk normally since it was not private. He even asked her out for drinks 1-1 on the day my boss had a housewarming which of course, my colleague had to attend.

Back to the trip, the group partied quite a bit and I understand that my boss was hit on by many women who asked if they could return to the room with him.

Later, I had to play aunt agony to my boss and listen to him tell me about how my colleague and her bf was too close for comfort during the trip. I guess to some extend, he was pissed because the bf didn’t want to drink with him and asked him to stop forcing drinks on others.

Too many affairs to handle for a day.

I wish the time could turn back. Turn back to the time when everyone’s love was pure, impulsive and passionate. I had it once, but I lost it. I lost it to Fear. He stole my courage of thinking anything and everything is possible because of love. He offered logic and practicality- “Choose the option in which you will least likely be hurt,” he said.

And so, I continue along this path, shivering in the cold, hoping to see a light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

